Ruby Frost Excerpt

*taps the microphone* Is this thing still on? Testing…1,2,3….

Hi everyone!

I know I don’t blog as much as I used to and I apologize for that. I’ve been writing as fast as I can and working on Ruby Frost. I’m almost finished with the third draft of the novel and I really hope you enjoy Bianca’s next adventure in Everafter. There is so much more going on. You will meet a whole bunch of incredible characters and also a new villain. So I sincerely hope it’s worth the wait. I want to make sure I give you guys the best book possible.

 

Anyway here is an unedited sneak peek at Ruby Frost, featuring your favorite Wonderlandian, Maggie Hatter. 😉

 

“There are clocks everywhere,” Maggie said as she looked at her surroundings, with a mixture of awe and fear. She wrinkled her lightly freckled nose as though she had just smelled something foul. “I don’t like it. All this…tick-tocking. It’s unsettling.”

Bianca chuckled and shook her head. She knew that bringing Maggie with her to the real world was going to make things a bit complicated. Maggie Hatter, daughter of Alice and Maddox aka the Mad Hatter, had never been to school. Sure, she knew how to read and write (thanks to her mother) but other than that she had no interest in education whatsoever. But she was curious as to where Bianca went every morning. And it was that curiosity that got Maggie to wake up early and get dressed. She had to borrow some of Bianca’s clothes, which were a little big on her. Bianca was shorter and curvier than Maggie, who was tall and slim like her father, but she just shrugged and borrowed one of Bianca’s belts and that helped keep everything in place.

“Please behave. I only have a few months left to go and then I’ll graduate,” Bianca whispered as she guided Maggie through the busy hallways of her school.

“I promise. You don’t have to worry about me. Although that girl over there should worry about her teeth. Why does she have all that metal in her mouth?” Maggie whispered.

“They’re called braces and people use them to straighten their teeth.”

Maggie looked horrified. She covered her mouth to keep herself from crying. She composed herself and twirled a piece of her blond, curly (and sometimes matted) hair.

“Why? What did her teeth do? Do they put your teeth in prison for misbehaving? If so, then I want to know what sort of shenanigans the teeth around here like to do,” Maggie said.

Bianca rolled her eyes and tried not to laugh. “Just…shh. Okay?”

“Shh? Easy for you to say. You probably know where all the teeth go to have fun,” Maggie muttered.

They stopped in front of her locker. Bianca unlocked and opened it. She took out her math book and a few notebooks. She handed one to Maggie in case she wanted to take notes during class. Maggie arched an eyebrow and quirked her lip a tiny bit.

“What am I supposed to do with this?” Maggie asked, holding the notebook between her index finger and thumb as though it were a skunk.

“Take notes?” Bianca suggested.

Maggie tossed the notebook back inside the locker and slammed it shut. “I don’t think so. I’m here to observe and see what is so dangerous of about this high school. So far there is nothing here that is disconcerting. There are no jabberwockies, no Bandersnatch, no card soldiers. I’m starting to think you were exaggerating,” Maggie said.

“Trust me. I wasn’t exaggerating. Some of these people are horrible and vicious,” Bianca said.

Maggie crossed her arms over her chest and shook her head. “I’ll believe it when I see it.”

(c) Liz DeJesus 2017

 

Liz.Dejesus.Ruby.Frost.eBook

2 comments on “Ruby Frost Excerpt

Leave a comment