Valentine’s Day Crayons!!

Valentine’s Day will be here in a couple of weeks (yes, it’s right around the corner). And to get ready for the big day I decided that instead of regular Valentine’s Day cards for my son’s preschool class, I figured it would be fun to make heart shaped crayons.

So I figured I’d share it with you guys and hope you enjoy yourself as much as I did. πŸ˜€

What you’ll need:

Cake or cookie pan.

crafts

crafts2

(Got this one at Target today) πŸ˜€

Several boxes of crayons. Any brand will do, but I’m a Crayola girl at heart. So I bought three boxes.
Sharp scissors (just in case).
A can of PAM (so that the crayons don’t stick to the pan).

Step One: Take the paper off the crayons. I tried doing it without scissors but you gotta hand it to Crayola, that paper is STUCK there pretty good. I got my sharpest pair of scissors and cut a line straight through the paper and it popped right off. There might be a tiny film of glue left behind but it’ll melt off in the oven.

Step Two:

Spray the pan with a bit of PAM. Use some paper towel to wipe up some of the excess.

Step Three:

Take 4 crayons and break them into each heart. You can group them by color or you can have rainbow crayons with any leftover crayons you find around the house. Have fun.

crafts4

Step Four:

Put the pan with the broken crayons in the oven. I put it at 350 degrees and it melted within a few minutes.

crafts5

Step Five:

Once the crayons have melted take the pan out of the oven (very carefully because the crayons are now liquidy) and put the pan in the freezer so that the crayon wax will harden a lot faster. This will take about ten minutes.

Step Six:

Take the pan out of the freezer and your heart shaped crayons are ready to go. πŸ™‚ FYI If you have a cake pan like the one I got, the crayons won’t pop off easily. So you might have to bang the pan against the counter a few times. Just remember to use a bit of PAM and hopefully they won’t break while you take them out of the pan.

Enjoy!!

crafts6

crafts7

Leave a Reply

