Zombie Fairy Tales

Yep. You read that correctly. I got an idea to write a post apocalyptic, zombie, fairy tale themed novel. Did I mention that I’m OBSESSED with fairy tales? So this should surprise no one. Although my mom looked at me like I had lost my mind when I told her the general plot of the book.

“We all need something fun to write,” she said. And left it at that. LOL

It started when I stumbled across a submissions call at Entangled Publishing looking for zombie themed fairy tales. Submissions closed before I could write something and submit it. But months passed and the idea wouldn’t let me go. And I’m not into zombies…really I’m not. But I was a HUGE fan of Warm Bodies. And I figured that maybe I could write something similar. So I jotted down a few ideas the other day and ended up with 7 pages worth. It started writing itself…I was a woman possessed. 

So here’s the general gist of it. 

Snow White = Neve, who is the leader of the compound. She’s a badass who walks around with several knives tucked around her body. She has 7 search droids that help her scout the area whenever she goes out hunting for game and searching for clean drinking water. 

Beauty and the Beast = Bella and Teddy. She’s a scientist trying to find a cure to the zombie plague/virus (still working on the details). She keeps her zombie boyfriend chained in the basement and uses him in her research. It’s not pretty. 

Sleeping Beauty = Briar is a hot mess who thinks she can garden. She has a filthy mouth that would make a seasoned truck driver blush. 

Rapunzel = Zee is the computer genius that spends her time locked in her ‘tower’. She is bisexual and will basically screw anything that moves. LOVE HER. 

There is nothing Disney or safe about this book. It’s going to be a bit of a dramedy because they say the funniest things. LOL It’s funny to me anyway. 🙂

Leave a Reply

